19 comments on “How to Grill Country Style Ribs on a Gas Grill

  1. So I’m about to bbq country style ribs… just fired up the grill and googled what the internal temp should be. Thanks for saving my evening… our evening on this 4th of July! 🙂

  2. Sorry for the late reply, Jenn. I hope the meal came out great! Internal temp is supposed to be 160* for pork, but I usually poke it and when it feels a bit firm its done. White through and through with lots of juices!

  3. I’m trying this recipe for the first time tomorrow. I have never cooked ribs but I’m going to go for it!! I’ll let you know how they come out, I have an amazing rub that I plan to use, if you’d like the recipe let me know!

  4. Ok, here is the spice rub:
    3 Tbsp. paprika
    2 Tbsp. chili powder
    2 Tbsp. ground cumin
    2 Tbsp. dark brown sugar
    2 Tbsp. salt
    1 Tbsp. oregano
    1 Tbsp. sugar
    1 Tbsp. black pepper
    1 Tbsp. white pepper
    1-2 Tbsp. cayenne and/or chipotle pepper, depending on how hot you want it.

    The rub is on the ribs, and I’ll let them sit tonight, I can’t wait to cook them tomorrow!

  5. excellent, I was wondering how they would not get burned. I don’t have an upper rack but have a 4 burner strip grill, so I plan on lighting off the 2 further ends no.s 1 and 4 and leaving 2 and 3 in the middle unlit and putting the ribs on the grill in the middle of the heat….I’ll let you know how that worked..

    thx!
    Carl

  6. Just tried this method as it was 95* today and I don’t have AC in the house and the oven is not an option. This worked great, I can’t believe how moist and tender the ribs turned out and I was able to cook some baked potatoes on the grill at the same time on the lower rack with tinfoil covering as well. I just want to say thanks and I will be using this for years.

  7. This was awsome. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I have never made such simply juicy and tender country ribs like that ever. Always taught to par boil first but to me that destroyed all flavor. But between the cajun rub and this gas grill technique – whala… my husband even loved my ribs for once. Bon Appetit!

  8. hey ken…I used your method to cook my country style ribs and they were perfect, in-direct heat and I brined them in cold water with sugar and salt for 6 hours, great, moist and singed around the edges just right after dropping them over direct heat for approx 15 minutes…

  9. How long did you guys cook them? I am at the 45 min mark and it looks like they have a while to go.

  10. Its posts like these that REALLY make me regret switching to a vegetarian diet..

  11. Excellent…… It took a little over the 45 min. mark @ 300 degrees but was well worth the wait. It ended up taking about 65 min. but they turned out GREAT!!!!!!!!

  12. Any site with the name Ken’s garbage can is all right in my book. Just cooked up some ribs per kens recipe. Tasty stuff right there Chief.

  13. I tried this today and even in the rain left over from Isaac, they turned out wonderful. Thanks for the tips.

  14. We have a unique book on plant based meals made on a barbeque grill that people are just loving –GRILLS GONE VEGAN–. In fact we are going to do a special 4th of July Grilling Campaign on social media in June with the book. I thought you may want to add this title or review it on your site. For those who need to reduce meat, it is possible to eat healthy and not give up the mouth watering flavors of grilled food. A digital sampler is available for review, and also a hard copy. Please consider reviewing and listing this title. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you, Mary Ellen, maryellen@bookpubco.com.

  15. This was delicious my family absolutely loved this thank you for helping us finally have ribs at a cookout. And they were super good.

  16. We just made the best ribs we have ever had. Thanks so much for the instructions! (and thank you Cristin for the rub recipe, it was delicious.)

Leave a comment